
West Virginia Board of Professional Surveyors 
Announces a Continuing Education Workshop by: 

 

Don Teter, West Virginia P.S.  
Friday, June 10, 2016 
Charleston Civic Center, Charleston, West Virginia 

 

This minimum technical standards and professional ethics workshop meets the requirement of 23 CSR-2-3.2 which requires 
that all licensees obtain a minimum of 2 PDH’S in each discipline in Board approved courses or activities every 4 years. 

 

Registration:  7:30 a.m. - 8:00 a.m. 
(Beverages and snacks will be available throughout the day) 

 

8 a.m. to 10 p.m. – Precise Survey Measurements Part I (2 PDH’s) 
Stairway to Heaven or Path to Purgatory? 

Advances in measurement technology now allow moderately trained personnel to obtain increasingly precise 
positions.  This may provide many solutions, but is also fraught with peril.  When boundary determinations are made 
with undue reliance on precise measurement, the result may be unnecessary conflict and fruitless litigation.  Don will 
explore the good and bad of the wonderful tool of “measurement”. 

 

 10 a.m. to 12 noon - Minimum Technical Standards (2 PDH’s) 
Review the laws and regulations governing the practice of land surveying in West Virginia to include an in-depth 
discussion of the minimum standards for boundary surveys. 

 

Noon to 1 p.m. – Lunch on your own 
 

1 p.m. to 3 p.m. – Professional Ethics for Surveyors (2 PDH’s) 
This session will define the attributes of a professional surveyor and discuss the surveyor’s obligations to his client, the 
public, and the profession; and will propose a professional code of conduct.  It will also review the Board’s legislative 

rules and discuss ethical considerations in the boundary surveying process. 
 

3 p.m. to 5 p.m. – Precise Survey Measurements Part II (2 PDH’s) 
Stairway to Heaven or Path to Purgatory? 

 
 

Registration Deadline:  June 3, 2016 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
 

  ALL Sessions  $150.00 
 

  Minimum Standards & Ethics Only  $100.00 
 

Registration and Payment may be made on our website www.wvbps.wv.gov or by sending this portion, 

along with your session choice and check payable to the WV Board of Professional Surveyors 

(WVBPS), 738 Airport Road, Sutton, WV  26601.  Your registration must be received no later than 

June 3rd.  Walk-ins and payments at the door are discouraged since sufficient reference material may 

not be available.  Cancellations will be accepted until June 8, 2016; thereafter, registration fee will be 

forfeited. 

 

Name:       Name for Name Tag:      

 

Mailing Address:            

 

Phone No.       WV P.S. License #     

http://www.wvbps.wv.gov/

