
     
 STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 

  BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL SURVEYORS   
            416 Airport Road, Suite 1, Sutton, West Virginia 26601-9740 
                Telephone (304) 765-0315  Fax (304) 765-0316 
   Web site:  www.wvbps.com     E-mail:  wvbps@wv.gov 
                              2011 Certificate of Authorization Renewal Form 
 
West Virginia Code §30-13A-20 requires each firm practicing surveying in West Virginia to have a certificate of 
authorization.   It states in part:  “The board shall issue a certificate of authorization to a firm that practices surveying in 
West Virginia; provides proof that the firm has employed a surveyor-in-charge; has paid all applicable fees; and completes 
such other requirements as specified by the board.”   The renewal fee for calendar year 2011 is $100 and it must 
accompany this properly completed and legible form.  Incomplete or illegible forms will be returned and are subject to a 
$50 reprocessing fee.  A penalty of $20 per month or partial month thereof will be imposed for renewals postmarked after 
December 31, 2010. 

 
Firm __________________________________________________________________________    COA # ________________________ 
 
Mailing Address ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

                 Street/P.O. Box                                              City                                           State                            Zip Code 
Phone__________________________________ Fax ___________________________ Web ___________________________________ 
 
Cell phone/ Surveyor-in-Charge____________________________E-mail/Surveyor-in-Charge___________________________________ 
 
Corporate Headquarters’ Address (if applicable)_______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Corporate Contact _____________________________________ Phone (______)________________ Fax (______)_________________ 
 
Please check business classification:     r  Corporation   r  Limited Liability Company r  PLLC 
 
r  Limited Partnership r  Limited Liability Partnership r  Sole Proprietorship            r  General Partnership 

    
FEIN Number ___________________________________  Incorporated:  State __________________ Date_______________________ 
 
List Social Security Number for sole proprietorships, if FEIN is not applicable  (__  _                –              – __ ________) 
 
 
r  I certify that __________________________________________________, under penalty of the law, is fully registered with the  
                                                         (Firm) 
West Virginia State Tax Department, the West Virginia Secretary of State (if applicable), and has obtained the required Workers’  
 
Compensation or Exemption Certificate to conduct business activities in the State of West Virginia. 
 
___________________________________________________            __________________________________________________ 
                               (Printed Name)                                                       (Signature – Firm Owner/President)  
 
           __________________________________________________ 
                                         (Date) 
Please list the corporate officers.  (Use additional page if necessary) 
 
Name           Mailing Address          City/State/Zip          Title        WV P.S. Lic. # 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
List all other WV Professional Surveyors authorized to supervise/sign work for the firm listed hereon.  (Use additional page if necessary) 
 
Name           Mailing Address          City/State/Zip          Title        WV P.S. Lic. # 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

r  WC/UC Verified _____                    r  Approved _____                                             … continued on reverse 
              (Board Use Only)                     (Board Use Only) 

 

http://www.wvbps.com/
mailto:wvbps@mail.state.wv.us


 

 
Affidavit of Licensed Surveyor-in-Charge:  I, ___________________________________________________, certify that I hold an active 

professional surveyor’s license in the State of West Virginia and that I am responsible for the supervision and management of 

all surveying activities in the State of West Virginia for the firm of ____________________________________________________ , 

conducted in its _____________________________________________________________ office. 

Number of employees I supervise and manage at this address: _________. 
 
I understand that as a designated surveyor-in-charge, I must be a full-time employee of the firm, or an officer, majority interest holder, 
or owner of the firm.  I further understand that I cannot be designated surveyor-in-charge for more than one firm or office, nor can I 
supervise the activities of an individual who is not employed by the firm, without advance approval by the Board. 
 

 
 _______________________________________________  _______________ 
           Signature of WV Professional Surveyor-in-Charge             Date 
 
         A Certificate of Authorization will not be issued unless a WV P.S. seal appears as noted. 
 
 
 
           (WV P.S. Seal) 
 
 
I do not wish to renew the Certificate of Authorization for__________________________________________________________,         

for calendar year 2011 for the following reason(s):                    (Firm) 

 
r  Inactive - I do not plan to conduct surveying services in West Virginia during calendar year 2011. 

 
r  Business Closed (provide Date) - ____________________________ 

 
r  Business Sold (provide information) - ___________________________________________________________ 
 

 
        
 
 _______________________________________________  _______________ 
  Signature of WV Professional Surveyor              Date 
 
                                                  -  or - 
 

_______________________________________________  _______________ 
     Signature of Firm Owner/President              Date 
             (WV P.S. Seal) 
 
1.  All State agencies, including WVBPS, are prohibited (96 CSR 1) from issuing or renewing any license or certificate to any 
applicant whose account is in default of workers’ compensation or unemployment compensation payments.  Questions 
should be directed to the Unemployment Compensation Division at 304-558-2451; BrickStreet (Workers’ Compensation) at 
304-941-1000; or WV Insurance Commission at 304-558-6279 x1229 for workers’ compensation exemption certificates. 
Applicants must also be in compliance with all court orders, subpoenas, or warrants relating to child support issues or 
proceedings. 
 
2.  PLEASE ENSURE THAT THE LICENSES OF ALL LISTED SURVEYORS ARE CURRENTLY ACTIVE. 
 
3.  A SEPARATE CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORIZATION IS REQUIRED FOR EACH OFFICE LOCATION. 
 
4.  PLEASE ENCLOSE THE $100 FEE FOR YOUR CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORIZATION FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2011.  
Please make check payable to the: WV Board of Professional Surveyors.  Please send your check and this fully 
completed form to the Board office (416 Airport Road, Suite 1, Sutton, WV  26601-9740), postmarked by December 31, 
2010, to avoid a $20 per month or partial month thereof penalty.  No fee is required for inactive status or non-renewal 
categories if indicated in the second box above.  
 
5.  Firms with expired certificates of authorization will be required to pay all late fees that accrue during periods of non-
renewal, unless the Board has been duly notified and has approved the reason(s) for non-renewal. 
 
6.  Checks returned for insufficient funds will be subject to a $25 administrative fee and other applicable bank or regulatory 
charges.  Re-payment must be paid by cashier’s check or money order.  

 

 


